Reset a Terraria World

If you want to start a new world in Terraria, there are two ways to do so:

Delete the World

  1. Stop your server.

  2. Connect to your server through FTP.
    (You may not see the .local folder on your server. To do so, in FileZilla, click on the Server menu and then on Force Showing Hidden Files.)

  3. Find the current world file and delete it.

4.  Start your server. With the old world deleted, a new one will be created by Terraria.

Change the World Name

  1. Click on serverconfig.txt which is located in the main /terraria/ folder:
  1. Change world and worldname to something other than world. So in this example, we are creating a new world called Sample. You would change these lines in serverconfig.txt to the following:
  1. Click the blue Save button.

  2. Restart your server and a new world should be generated with the new name.


Did this page help you?